Things to do.....

Drop into O'Casey's Bar for a Guinness or get an ice cream at Russell's General Merchants; a shop that has retained much of its traditional features.

The stain glass windows at the Church of the Assumption also give the opportunity to view some wonderful craftsmanship.

The ruin of Templetenny Church lies 4km outside the village on the Mitchelstown side. Some of the tombstone inscriptions date back to the late 18th Century and Ronald Reagan's ancestors lie here in by now unmarked graves.

The Mitchelstown Caves are a must see, being one of the most impressive in Europe and the family run touch adds to its appeal. Check out their website for opening times.

Hill walking is a popular pursuit and a great way to experience the scenery and rural way of life in the area. A section of the Blackwater/Avondhu Way passes through the hills above the village, check out Irish Trails Website  (Note map 2 : Crow Hll to Mountain Barracks).Use the OSI Mapviewer to tailor a shorter walk or loop

The wider Galtee Vee Valley has further attractions. The Galtee mountains are most commonly trecked from the top of the "Black Road" (the first left after Jackson's pub on the Cahir side of Skeheenarinky) or from King's Yard. Shorter walking loops around Galtee Castle Wood or Glengarra Wood are also popular.

The Vee Gap on the Lismore road outside Clogheen gives magnificent views of the valley. The nearby carpark is an ideal start point to hillwalk on the Knockmealdowns or it's just a short walk to Bay Lough, A corrie lake steeped in local folklore.

Shanrahan Cemetery just outside Clogheen, has ruins of a medieval castle, a church abandoned in the early 18th Century, the grave of the martyred Fr. Nicholas Sheehy (the local Catholic parish priest falsely condemned in a sectarian conspiracy in 1760's) and the Mausoleum of the O'Callaghans; a once powerful Ascendency family and owners of the now demolished Shanbally Castle.

Burncourt Castle can be seen just east of Burncourt village, it has laid in ruin since the Cromwellian conflict in 1649,local folklore tells it was burnt to the ground by the wife of its owner; Sir Richard Everard before it could be taken by his approaching enemy, note that this structure is on private property. However in Cahir, Butler's Castle and its former Swiss Cottage are owned by the Office of Public Works and open to the public.

Mitchelstown has an excellent golf links and a unique heritage trail exhibiting its Georgian architecture.
 

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.


Get Flash Player